Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa (SubClass 489)

A complete overview about Australia Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa

Australia Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) is for skilled workers who wish to reside and work in particular regional areas of Australia for maximum period of four years. In case of invited pathway, applicants need to submit expression of interest, which is a procedure of expressing their interest towards applying a visa. For the extended pathway, one needs to apply for a Skilled Regional (Provisional) Renewal (subclass 489) visa.

 Australia Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) requirements

The following are the set of requirements for both invited and extended pathway.

In case of invited pathway, applicants must satisfy certain requirements such as:

  • Applicant must be nominated by a state or territory government agency or sponsored by an eligible relative residing in specific area
  • Must nominate an occupation present on skilled occupation list
  • Skill assessment for that profession
  • Must be under 50 years of age
  • Must qualify in points based system
  • English language skills

For extended pathway

Applicants who hold a provisional visa of either subclass 495, 496, 475 or 487 can apply under this pathway.

Australia immigration points calculator

Applicants of Australia Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa must qualify in points based system and should score 60 points under factors such as age, qualification, language skills, relevant work experience, Australian education and other factors.

Benefits of Australia Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa

Australia Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa holders will be able to reside in Australia for a period of four years. They can even study and work in specified regional area of Australia and can travel in and out of the country given the visa is valid. Australia Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa paves path for permanent residency through the Skilled-Regional (Residence) visa (subclass 887).

In case of dependents, they must be a family member of someone who holds the either subclass 489 visas or a provisional visa in subclass 475, 487, 495 or 496.

Related Links:

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
Chat Icon